Privacy Policy Addendum
The Beckhoff USA privacy policy applies to your use of the Beckhoff North America Community and can be found here: Data privacy policy | Beckhoff USA
If you are a resident of Canada, then the Beckhoff Canada privacy policy applies to your use of the Beckhoff North America Community and can be found here: Data privacy policy | Beckhoff Canada
Additional details that are specific to the community, or anything for the community that deviates from the privacy policy linked above, are clarified below:
Use of Cookies
This site only uses cookies that are essential for site operation. No marketing/tracking cookies or 3rd party cookies are enabled on this community site.
Registration
Registration is not required to view content on this site. However, to post a topic / reply or to provide an emoji reaction to a post, you must register and login. When you register, we will collect your first and last name, username, email address, an optionally your title and company.
During registration you will also be required to acknowledge you have read the community guidelines, this privacy policy, and the general terms and conditions.
Information about your computer
The server access logs will include the IP address, user agent (browser and operating system details), and which pages are visited. This is necessary for security, troubleshooting, and abuse prevention. Additionally, if you are registered in the community, the IP address you used during registration will also be stored.
Data Storage Location
All personal information and forum content is stored in a data center in the EU.
Data Storage Period
Your account and associated data will persist as long as you are an active member of the community. You qualify as an active member by simply visiting the community while logged in - no posting or commenting necessary. If you do not login and visit the community for 2 straight years, then your account will be anonymized.
Anonymization versus Deletion
When your account is anonymized, personal information such as username, email, name, and avatar is removed. Your username is replaced with an anonymized username. Your account is disabled and you are no longer able to login. Your posts and topics remain in the forum, but the ownership is transferred to the anonymized username. As a result, the conversations and information within the forum remains intact, but you will no longer be associated with it.
When your account is deleted, all personal data is removed as well as all of your posted topics and replies. This can cause disconnects in past conversations in the forum, as your contributions will be removed.
Account anonymization typically only occurs per your request or after 2 years of inactivity in the forum. Account deletion typically only occurs per your request. Moderators reserve the right to anonymize / delete accounts per the community guidelines.
Account Deletion / Anonymization Request
To request that your account be deleted or anonymized, navigate to your profile preferences:
On the Account tab, scroll down and select “Delete My Account”. Then choose “Account Deletion Request”.
This will begin a direct message to admins and moderators with your request.
When you send us an account deletion request, please specify whether you’d like your account anonymized (personal data is removed, but your topics and replies remain) or deleted (personal data and all topics / replies are deleted). The moderators or an admin will then act accordingly within 30 days. Our preference is to anonymize accounts, so that forum content remains intact.
Changing Your Information
To update your profile information, navigate to your profile preferences:
Then edit the data on the corresponding tabs as desired:
Communicating With Us
To reach us privately, send a direct message to the ‘moderators’ group.
This privacy policy was last updated July 21, 2025 and may be updated at any time without prior notice. By participating, you agree to follow the most current version of this policy.



